

## **OVERVIEW OF ECONOMIC PARTNERSHIP AGREEMENTS**

Updated January 2018 – Updates in red

REGION	CURRENT STATUS	NEXT STEPS
WEST AFRICA	The stepping stone EPA with Côte d'Ivoire was signed on 26 November 2008, approved by the European Parliament on 25 March 2009, and ratified by the Ivoirian National Assembly on 12 August 2016. It entered into provisional application on 3 September 2016. The first meeting of the joint EPA committee took place in Abidjan on 5 April 2017.	agreements are provisionally applied. The Second Meeting of the joint EPA committee will take place in March 2018 for Ivory Coast and the First Meeting of the joint EPA committee will take place
	The stepping stone EPA with Ghana was signed on 28 July 2016, ratified on 3 August 2016 by the Ghanaian Parliament and approved by the European Parliament on 1 December 2016. It entered into provisional application on 15 December 2016.	<b>Regional EPA</b> : After signature by all the Parties, the agreement will be submitted for ratification.
	Negotiations of the regional EPA were closed by Chief Negotiators on 6 February 2014 in Brussels. The text was initialed on 30 June 2014. All EU Member States and 13 West African Countries signed the EPA in December 2014, except Nigeria, Mauritania and The Gambia.	
	Mauritania and ECOWAS signed an Association Agreement on 9 August 2017 to define the country's participation in ECOWAS' trade policy including the EPA.	

REGION	CURRENT STATUS	NEXT STEPS
CENTRAL AFRICA	Cameroon signed the EPA between the EU and Central Africa as the only country in the region on 15 January 2009. The European Parliament gave its consent in June 2013. In July 2014 the Parliament of Cameroon approved the ratification of the Agreement and on 4 August 2014 the agreement entered into provisional application.  The third EPA Committee between Cameroon and the EU took place on 7 and 8 December 2017 in Brussels. It discussed the state of play of implementation and related issues (liberalization state of play, updating of the liberalization timetable, rules of origin, accompanying measures, fiscal impact, rendez-vous clauses, etc.).  Contacts are ongoing between the region and the EU on accession to this EPA by other Central African countries.	Meeting of the EPA Committee: The fourth meeting will take place in Yaoundé in December 2018.  In the meantime, discussions continue between the Parties to deepen the implementation of the agreement. Negotiations are also ongoing to agree a joint protocol on rules of origin.
EASTERN AND SOUTHERN AFRICA (ESA)	In 2009 Mauritius, Seychelles, Zimbabwe and Madagascar signed an Economic Partnership Agreement (EPA). The Agreement is provisionally applied since 14 May 2012. The European Parliament gave its consent on 17 January 2013.  The inaugural EPA Committee was held in October 2012 in Brussels, and the latest, sixth, meeting took place in October 2017 in Antananarivo (Madagascar). The Customs Cooperation Committee and the Joint Development Committee also met alongside the EPA Committee.  During this meeting, both Parties agreed on a package modernizing the rules of origin for this EPA. Both Parties agreed to submit each other their proposal with a view to jointly defining the scope and objectives of the possible deepening of the current agreement before launching negotiations.	Dedicated meeting of the Parties to discuss the proposal of each Party on the scope and objectives of a possible deepening of the current agreement: The meeting will take place in the first quarter of 2018.  Meeting of the EPA Committee: the seventh meeting will take place in Brussels in the 3 <sup>rd</sup> quarter 2018.

REGION	CURRENT STATUS	NEXT STEPS
EAST AFRICAN COMMUNITY (EAC)	The negotiations for the regional EPA were successfully concluded on 16 October 2014.  On 1 September 2016, Kenya and Rwanda signed the Economic Partnership Agreement between the East African Community and the EU. All EU Member States and the EU have also signed the Agreement.	The next EAC Summit will discuss the way forward for the EPA.
SOUTHAFRICAN DEVELOPMENT COMMUNITY (SADC) EPA Group	On 15 July 2014 the EPA negotiations were successfully concluded in South Africa.  The agreement was signed by the EU and the SADC EPA group on 10 June 2016 and the European Parliament gave its consent on 14 September 2016. Pending ratification by all EU Member States, the agreement came provisionally into force as of 10 October 2016.  The first meeting of the joint Trade and Development Committee (TDC) took place on 16-17 February 2017. A second meeting of the TDC took place on 21 October 2017. The third one is scheduled for 22-23 February 2018.  Mozambique ratified the agreement on 28 April 2017.	Following provisional application, the Parties are addressing implementation issues including the twin questions of EPA monitoring and civil-society involvement and putting in place the institutional framework for the Agreement.
CARIBBEAN	<ul> <li>The CARIFORUM – EU EPA was signed in October 2008 and approved by the European Parliament in March 2009.</li> <li>The EPA joint institutions have met regularly since 2010:         <ul> <li>The Joint CARIFORUM-EU Council (ministers) held its fourth meeting in Brussels in November 2017.</li> </ul> </li> <li>The Trade and Development Committee (senior officials) held its seventh meeting in Brussels in November 2017</li> <li>The Consultative Committee representing civil society held its third meeting in Trinidad and Tobago in November 2017</li> </ul>	<ul> <li>Both regions need to:</li> <li>continue working on the further implementation of the various aspects of the EPA;</li> <li>agree on a joint system for monitoring the EPA;</li> <li>negotiate an agreement to protect geographical indications (GIs), valuable regional product names.</li> </ul>

REGION	CURRENT STATUS	NEXT STEPS
PACIFIC	The EU and Papua New Guinea (PNG) signed the EPA on 30 July and Fiji on 11 December 2009. The EP gave its consent on 19 January 2011. The Parliament of PNG ratified the EPA on 25 May 2011. On 17 July 2014 Fiji decided to start provisionally applying the Agreement.	To work towards the accession of Samoa and Solomon Islands
	Five meetings of the Trade Committee established under the EPA have taken place as follows:  • 11 April 2011, Port Moresby	
	<ul><li>24 February 2012, Port Moresby</li><li>11 July 2013, Brussels</li></ul>	
	<ul><li>24 June 2015, Brussels</li><li>19 October 2017, Brussels</li></ul>	
	In the meantime, Samoa and Solomon Islands have recently informed the EU of their intentions to accede to the existing EPA.	